The Wildest Racetracks in Australia

Australia has more racetracks and racing clubs, and more racehorses than any other country. There are more than 360 registered racecourses where horse racing takes place during about 3,050 race meetings. Different racing events are held seven days a week, except Christmas and Good Friday. Race meetings are conducted daily by Metropolitan, Provincial and Country Race Clubs. Every state has a range of quality provincial, country and metropolitan racetracks that hold great race meetings all year round. The racing season begins on August 1st each year and the end of the racing season concludes on July 30th.

The world’s most esteemed and scenic racecourses can be found in Australia. The most famous race tracks are those close state capitals such as Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane. These metropolitan racetracks host the highly anticipated racing carnivals that attract the Australian racing crop elite. The wildest racetracks in Australia are:

Flemington Racecourse, run by Victoria Racing Club is the wildest and the most well-known racecourse in Australia. The track is located a short distance from Melbourne. It is the home of the Melbourne Cup, the most prestigious Thoroughbred horse race. It is the racing event that stops the nation; the official race day is a public holiday in Victoria. Around the country most of the people stop to bet on the race and watch it on tv. Regular horse racing punter bet online through online betting sites like Crownbet Bookmakers. Other high quality horse races include Victoria Derby, Turnbull Stakes, Lightning Stakes, Newmarket Handicap and Australian Cup.

Caulfied Racecourse, run by Melbourne Racing Club is a premier racing track located eight kilometres south east of Melbourne CBD. It is one of the wildest and most famous racetracks in Australia which is the home of the Caulfield Cup, as well as many other race meetings. The Caulfield Cup ranks among the top five races in Australia. Caulfield Guineas, Orr Stakes, Blue Diamond Stakes, Underwood Stakes, Oakleigh Plate and Futurity Stakes are held in Caulfield Racetrack.

Moonee Valley
Moonee Valley Racecourse, run by Moonee Valley Racing Club is home to the Cox Plate, Australia’s third richest race. The Cox Plate is worth in excess of $3 million, the richest weight-for-age race in Australia. Racing takes place in an anti-clockwise direction and this is the only Melbourne track that offer night racing. Other great races held at Moonee Valley include the Manikato Stakes, William Reid Stakes, and Australia Stakes.

Randwick Racecourse in Sydney is a world famous racetrack. In 1992, it was granted the right to be known as Royal Randwick by Queen Elizabeth. The track has the state-of-the-art grandstand and world-class function facilities. Its signature race is the Australian Derby held on the second Saturday in April after the Golden Slipper. In spring Randwick comes alive with the Epsom Handicap on the Saturday of Labour Day long weekend. Other big races run at Randwick include the Sydney Cup and Doncaster Handicap

Canberra Racecourse also known as Thoroughbred Park features two race tracks, the all-weather Acton Track and the turf course proper. It is one of the most modern racetracks in Australia that offers the beautiful view of the metro and the tranquility of the countryside. The Canberra Racing Club’s major race day is the Seppelt Black Opal Stakes every second Sunday of March each year and the Canberra Cup raced each year on a Sunday in November.

Eagle Farm
Eagle Farm Racecourse in Brisbane is Queensland’s wildest track and home to the Brisbane Winter carnival. It is run by Brisbane Racing Club which hosts the Brisbane Cup. Eagle Farm is a clockwise track with grass surface and sand composite underlay it is commonly used for flat racing. The track is known for its ability to be an all season’s course that can cope with any kind of weather conditions.

Alice Springs
Alice Springs in Northern Territory is one of the most scenic and beautifully situated tracks in the country. It is run by Alice Springs Turf Club and home of Alice Springs Cup which is held every first Monday in May. It has a great carnival atmosphere which can be enjoyed by racing visitors. Their most famous racing event is Young Gun’s Day held on Saturday over the May long weekend.

Morphettville Racecourse in Adelaide hosts major horse racing including Adelaide Cup, Robert Sangster Stakes, Australasian Oaks and The Goodwood Handicap. It features two racetracks the Morphettville Track and Morphettville Parks Track. These tracks can host both flat racing as well as steeple and hurdle races.

Darwin Racecourse, also known as Fannie Bay Racecourse is run by Darwin Turf Club. It is the home of the Darwin Cup which is one of the biggest sporting events in Northern Territory. More than 20,000 people attend the race every year. It boasts of a unique track which is made from oil mixed with sand, as opposed to the traditional turf overlay. The racecourse offers above average provincial dirt track with tropical gardens, premier pavilions, air conditioned pavilions and a variety of function rooms.


Categories: Blogs Tags: ,